English

CUAS Carinthian University of Applied Sciences

Feldkirchen, Klagenfurt, Spittal/Drau, Villach

The Carinthia University of Applied Sciences (CUAS) was founded in 1995 and now has five locations in Carinthia: Feldkirchen, Klagenfurt, Spittal/Drau and Villach. The CUAS currently offers 32 degree programs in the areas of Civil Engineering and Architecture, Engineering & IT, Health Sciences and Social Work Management to almost 2000 students. The CUAS recognizes the importance of internationalization which, at the institution, is understood as the internationalization of study curricula, the worldwide exchange of students and teachers as well as well-aimed support for cooperation in teaching, leaning, research and development. About 20% of the almost 300 employees at the CUAS are international employees (from Germany, India, Great Britain, Croatia, Spain and seven other nations).

The requirements for a future-oriented and international education focus on preparing the CUAS graduates for the ever-changing labour market. At the same time, intercultural awareness is an essential element of personal development and is the focus of a modern education. For the CUAS global learning, in terms of the CUAS’ students’ awareness of global connections and the promotion of extended knowledge, understanding and responsibility for global developments, has priority.

The Carinthia University of Applied Sciences has been a member of the CIC from the very beginning. CIC initiatives such as tandem language courses, social events and the International School contribute to a faster integration by colleagues and partly also students from abroad. Furthermore, the CIC gives the CUAS impulses for the further development of its organization, such as the newly signed Diversity Charter which is being implemented by the internal university guidelines.

Deutsch

FH Kärnten

Feldkirchen, Klagenfurt, Spittal/Drau, Villach

Die FH Kärnten wurde 1995 gegründet und arbeitet momentan an fünf Standorten in Kärnten: Feldkirchen, Klagenfurt, Spittal/Drau und Villach. Zurzeit werden 32 Studiengänge in den Bereichen Technik, Gesundheit und Soziales sowie Wirtschaft angeboten, an denen rund 2000 Studierende eine exzellente Ausbildung bekommen. Die FH Kärnten bekennt sich zur Internationalisierung, die an der Hochschule als Internationalisierung der Curricula, weltweiter Austausch von Studierenden und Lehrenden und gezielte Förderung von Kooperationen in Lehre, Studium, Forschung und Entwicklung verstanden wird. Etwa 20% der knapp 300 Beschäftigten an der FH Kärnten sind internationale Mitarbeiter_innen (aus Deutschland, Indien, Großbritannien, Kroatien, Spanien und sieben anderen Nationen).

Die Anforderungen an eine zukunftsorientierte sowie internationale Ausbildung bestehen darin, die FH-Studierenden optimal auf den sich ständig verändernden Arbeitsmarkt vorzubereiten. Zugleich ist interkulturelles Bewusstsein ein wesentliches Element der Persönlichkeitsentwicklung und steht im Fokus einer modernen Ausbildung. Globales Lernen, im Sinne der Sensibilisierung der FH-Studierenden für globale Zusammenhänge als auch der Förderung eines Mehr an Wissen, Verständnis und Verantwortung für globale Entwicklungen, hat Priorität.

Die FH Kärnten ist seit Gründung des CIC ein Mitgliedsunternehmen dieser wichtigen Initiative. Durch die Aktivitäten des CIC wie Language Swaps, Social Events, Internationale Schule haben vor allem auch FH-Mitarbeiter_innen aus dem Ausland die Möglichkeit schnell Anschluss in der Region zu finden. Zusätzlich entstehen durch den CIC auch wichtige Impulse für die weitere Entwicklung der Organisationen. So hat die FH Kärnten, auf Initiative des CIC, die Charta der Vielfalt unterschrieben, die jetzt intern in entsprechenden Leitlinien umgesetzt wird.