English

Jitske Kretz, Accompanying family

Lam Research Corporation, Villach

When Lam Research offered my husband the chance to work in Villach as an expat for a couple of years, HR organized a week long orientation trip to Villach for us and on this occasion they arranged our first contact with the CIC. For us as a family with two kids, one of whom was already at school, the education system and the Austrian school system were important topics, because at that time the International School Carinthia (ISC) didn’t yet exist. The CIC did more than just provide information: they also made appointments with schools, accompanied us to the meetings and acted as interpreters.


After our move to Villach I was regularly invited to events by the CIC. I attended coffee mornings and networking sessions and got to know many people. If you live in this region you should learn the language, which is why I participated in German classes organised by the CIC. I was particularly fond of the language swap, because during the meetings I had to talk in German for a longer stretch and learnt a lot about Villach and Austria through my language swap partner. Other ideal formats for me were and are all regular courses, like the German conversation and cooking classes or the Zeitungsgespräche/newspaper talks.


My kids, too, took part in various CIC family events during their first year in Villach, for example a BBQ at the river Gail or a themed hike. Occasions like these gave them the opportunity to experience in a positive way the fact that they are part of an international community. We feel very comfortable here. For this reason, after three years living in Villach, we decided to localise instead of returning to the US.

(Interview Birgit Stegbauer)

 

LINK - FACES OF THE CIC

Deutsch

Jitske Kretz, Begleitende Familie

Lam Research Corporation, Villach

Als Lam Research meinem Mann das Angebot machte für einige Jahre in Villach als Expat zu arbeiten, organisierte HR für uns einen einwöchigen Orientation Trip nach Villach und arrangierte bei dieser Gelegenheit unseren Kontakt zum CIC. Für uns als Familie mit zwei Kindern, von denen eines schon zur Schule ging, waren das Bildungswesen und das österreichische Schulsystem wichtige Themen, denn die International School Carinthia (ISC) gab es zu dieser Zeit noch nicht. Der CIC tat weit mehr als uns zu informieren: Er holte für uns Termine an Schulen ein, begleitete uns zu den Gesprächen und dolmetschte für uns.

Nach unserem Umzug nach Villach erhielt ich vom CIC regelmäßig Einladungen zu Veranstaltungen. Ich besuchte Coffee Mornings und Networking Sessions und lernte dabei viele Leute kennen. Wer hier lebt sollte die Sprache lernen, darum nahm ich an Deutsch-Kursen, die der CIC vermittelte, teil. Besonders gut gefiel mir der Language Swap, weil ich bei den Treffen längere Zeit am Stück Deutsch sprechen musste und von meiner Language Swap Partnerin viel über Villach und Österreich lernen konnte. Andere ideale Formate waren und sind für mich regelmäßige Kurse wie die Deutsch Konversations- und Kochkurse oder die Zeitungsgespräche.

Auch meine Kinder nahmen in ihrem ersten Jahr in Villach an verschiedenen CIC-Veranstaltungen für Familien teil, wie zum Beispiel einem Grillen an der Gail oder einer Themenwanderung. Sie konnten dabei positiv erfahren, dass sie ein Teil der internationalen Community vor Ort sind. Wir fühlen uns wirklich wohl hier. Deshalb trafen wir nach drei Jahren in Villach die Entscheidung zu lokalisieren statt in die USA zurückzukehren. (Interview Birgit Stegbauer)

 

LINK GESICHTER DES CIC