English

Imerys Fused Minerals

Imerys Fused Minerals Villach Gmbh is the worldwide largest producer of fused aluminum oxide, a synthetic mineral which is the most commonly used mineral for the abrasives industry. It is also widely used in refractories, technical ceramics and heating elements, as well as in the industrial equipment and construction markets. The company, belonging to the French listed mining group Imerys S.A., is headquartered in Villach. Imerys Fused Minerals employs more than 1,600 employees worldwide, of which approximately 300 work at the site in Villach.  

The Center for Abrasives and Refractories Research and Development GmbH (CARRD), also located in Villach, carries out high-level research work on different minerals for the Imerys Group. 30 highly qualified engineers and technicians work in CARRD, most of them with international experience. The international employees are coming from Italy, Germany, Poland, France, Russia, Slovenia, Bosnia and even as far as New Zealand.  

​Imerys Fused Minerals and CARRD are strongly committed to the CIC. New, foreign employees benefit from its networking opportunities and services. The CIC helps these newcomers to integrate into the region and culture of Carinthia and, more generally, Austria, thereby strengthening the position and attractiveness of Carinthia as an industrial location.

Deutsch

Imerys Fused Minerals

Imerys Fused Minerals Villach Gmbh ist der weltweit größte Produzent von Korund, einem synthetischen Mineral, das vor allem in der Schleifmittel-Industrie benutzt wird. Es wird auch in Feuerfestmaterial, technischen Keramiken, Heizelementen sowie in Industrieanlagen und der Bauindustrie verwendet. Das Unternehmen gehört zu dem französischen, börsennotierten Konzern Imerys S.A. und hat seinen Hauptsitz in Villach. Imerys Fused Minerals beschäftigt weltweit über 1.600 Mitarbeiter_innen, davon ungefähr 300 am Standort Villach.

Das Center for Abrasives and Refractories Research and Development GmbH (CARRD), das ebenfalls in Villach angesiedelt ist, führt Spitzenforschung an verschiedenen Mineralien für die Imerys Gruppe durch. CARRD beschäftigt 30 hochqualifizierte Ingenieure_innen und Techniker_innen, die meisten haben internationale Erfahrung. Die Mitarbeiter_innen, mit internationalem Hintergrund, kommen aus den verschiedensten Nationen, aus Italien, Deutschland, Frankreich, Russland, Slowenien, Bosnien und sogar aus Neuseeland. ​

Imerys Fused Minerals und CARRD sind vom CIC überzeugt und engagieren sich aktiv innerhalb des CIC. Neue, internationale Mitarbeiter profitieren von dessen Netzwerk-Möglichkeiten und Leistungen. Der CIC hilft den Neuankommenden sich in die Region und Kultur von Kärnten und, ganz allgemein, in die von Österreich zu integrieren. Durch Initiativen wie dem CIC wird die Attraktivität von Kärnten als Industriestandort gestärkt.