English

Silicon Austria Labs (SAL)

Silicon Austria Labs (SAL) is on the way to become a top European research center for electronic based systems (EBS). The application-oriented center offers cooperative research at three locations – Graz, Linz and Villach – in four pioneering research divisions: System Integration, Sensor Systems, RF Systems and Power Electronics. At the High Tech Campus in Villach, SAL can optimally connect with technology companies, research and education institutions and start-ups at one site. The existing infrastructure, such as the cleanroom and test labs, will be extended with further space.

Unfold the future with electronic based systems (EBS)
Electronic based systems – EBS – are components, assemblies and devices with micro-electronics and nano¬electronics, as well as embedded software. They are the technological backbone of digitalization. With the Research Divisions Sensor Systems, RF Systems, Power Electronics and System Integra¬tion, SAL is offering “key enabling technologies” for precisely these electronic based systems and is laying the basis for smart products and processes that create the foundations for things such as Industry 4.0, the Internet of Things (IOT), autonomous driving, cyber-physical systems (CPS), AI, smart cities, smart energy and smart health. Re¬search is carried out at both model level and hardware level (components, assemblies and devices with micro¬electronics and nano¬electronics) as well as the attendant embedded software level, in conjunction with the holistic knowledge of comprehensive system integration.

Close to half of SAL’s staff is international, coming from the UK, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Iran, India, Algeria, Sri Lanka, Macedonia, Vietnam, Italy, Poland, Germany, Switzerland, Hungary, Slovenia, France, the Russian Federation, Romania, Kosovo and Canada.

Deutsch

Silicon Austria Labs (SAL)

Mit Silicon Austria Labs (SAL) entsteht ein europäisches Spitzenforschungszentrum für elektronikbasierte Systeme (EBS). Das anwendungsorientierte Zentrum bietet kooperative Forschung an drei Standorten – Graz, Linz und Villach – in vier zukunftsweisenden Forschungsbereichen: System Integration, Sensor Systems, RF Systems und Power Electronics. Am High Tech Campus Villach kann sich SAL optimal mit Technologieunternehmen, Forschungs- und Ausbildungseinrichtungen sowie Start-Ups an einem Standort verbinden. Die vorhandene Infrastruktur, wie Forschungsreinräume und Testlabore, wird durch weitere Flächen erweitert.

Mit Electronic Based Systems (EBS) die Zukunft entfalten
Elektronikbasierte Systeme (Electronic Based Systems – EBS) sind Komponenten, Devices und Geräte mit Mikro- und Nanoelektronik sowie eingebetteter Software. Sie sind das technologische Rückgrat der Digitalisierung. Mit den vier Schlüsseltechnologien – Sensor Systems, RF Systems, Power Electronics und System Integration – bietet SAL „Key Enabling Technologies“ genau für diese elektronikbasierten Systeme und legt die Basis für intelligente Produkte und Prozesse, die das Fundament für Themen wie Industrie 4.0, Internet of Things (IOT), Autonomes Fahren, cyber-physikalische Systeme (CPS), KI, Smart City, Smart Energy oder Smart Health schaffen. Geforscht wird sowohl auf Modell- als auch auf Hardwareebene (Komponenten, Baugruppen und Geräte mit Mikro- und Nanoelektronik) sowie der dazugehörigen eingebetteten Softwareebene, verbunden mit dem holistischen Wissen der umfassenden Systemintegration.

Etwa die Hälfte der SAL-Belegschaft ist international und kommt aus Großbritannien, Bosnien und Herzegowina, Kroatien, Iran, Indien, Algerien, Sri Lanka, Mazedonien, Vietnam, Italien, Polen, Deutschland, Schweiz, Ungarn, Slowenien, Frankreich, der Russische Föderation, Rumänien, Kosovo und Kanada.