English

Vincent Chi Zhang

Infineon Technologies Austria AG, Villach

In order to be settled, you need bubbles. When you arrive, the first bubble is your work environment, work colleagues, work friends. Next comes the bubble with people from the same nationality or the same cultural background. When my family and I moved to Villach in 2005, our bubble was very small. Then, meeting the small number of other families with the same cultural background was a matter of pure coincidence. It took a year. There was no platform to let the people know each other or provide information and services.

Since then, a lot has changed. More Chinese people have moved to Villach, attracted by Infineon and the Carinthian University of Applied Studies (CUAS). The foundation of the CIC in 2009 was another boost for our Chinese communities. As a result, we opened a Chinese Sunday School in 2010. The CIC helped us borrow rooms from the ISC (International School Carinthia) and advertises the school to all newcomers. Our Chinese communities are now well connected.

And lastly, “Vereine” (clubs) are a very important bubble to interact with locals. I have several pastimes, but my favorite one is badminton. I play badminton in a Verein and I also teach children how to play. In the Verein you can find people with the same hobby and also you learn the language. It helps a lot with integration.

Culture, hobby and family can create very stable bubbles. The more you increase the dimension of a bubble or the number of bubbles, the more you feel at home.

Interview: Dr.in Birgit Stegbauer

LINK - Chinese school in Villach

 

LINK - The long road for Carinthia's master of badminton

LINK - CIC FACES

Deutsch

Vincent Chi Zhang

Infineon Technologies Austria AG, Villach

Um heimisch zu werden braucht man ‚bubbles’, (Seifen-) Blasen. Wenn man neu ankommt ist die erste Blase das Arbeitsumfeld, Arbeitskollegen, Arbeitsbekanntschaften. Danach kommt die Blase mit Leuten, die dieselbe Nationalität oder dieselbe kulturelle Herkunft haben. Als meine Familie und ich 2005 nach Villach zogen war unsere Blase sehr klein. Die damals noch wenigen Menschen mit derselben kulturellen Herkunft zu treffen war eine reine Zufallssache. Wir brauchten dafür ein Jahr. Es gab keine Plattform, welche Menschen zusammenbringt oder Informationen und Dienstleistungen anbietet.

Seither hat sich vieles geändert. Infineon und die FH Villach erwiesen sich als Magnete, die mehr Chinesen nach Villach zogen. Die Gründung des CIC im Jahr 2009  gab weitere Impulse für unsere chinesischen Communities. In der Folge richteten wir 2010 eine Chinesische Sonntagsschule ein. Der CIC half uns Räume von der ISC (International School Carinthia) zu nutzen und bewirbt die Schule bei allen Neuzuziehenden. Unsere chinesischen Communities sind jetzt wirklich gut vernetzt.

Und schließlich bilden die „Vereine“ (Klubs) eine sehr wichtige Blase für das Kennenlernen der Einheimischen. Ich habe einige Hobbies, aber mein liebstes ist Badminton. Ich spiele Badminton in einem Verein und trainiere auch Nachwuchsgruppen. Im Verein kann man Leute mit demselben Hobby finden und lernt dabei auch die Sprache. Das hilft sehr bei der Integration.

Kultur, Hobby und Familie können sehr tragfähige Blasen bilden. Je mehr die Größe der Blase oder die Anzahl der Blasen anwächst, desto heimischer fühlt man sich.

Autorin: Dr.in Birgit Stegbauer

LINK - Chinesische Sonntagsschule

LINK - Der lange Weg zum Kärntner Badmintonmeister Titel

LINK - GESICHTER DES CIC