The political system

Carinthia is one of nine federal states of Austria. Austria is a democratic republic (look here). The federal president is the head of the state. The two chambers of the parliament, the National Council and the Federal Council, are Austria's legislative organs (click the link). The highest authority of the Austrian government is the Federal Chancellor and his or her Vice-Chancellor. They head and direct activities of the government's federal ministers and under-secretaries of state (follow the link).

The supreme judiciary institutions are the Court of Chancery, the Austritan Administrative Court and the Austrian Constitutional Court.


Ten years after the end of the Second World War, in the year 1955, the Austrian Parliament passed a law in which it declared perpetual neutrality for Austria. Austria became a member of the United Nations (UNO) in 1955 and entered the European Union in 1995.

Austria has nine Federal States (Wien, Burgenland, Steiermark, Oberösterreich, Niederösterreich, Salzburg, Tirol, Vorarlberg and Kärnten). Carinthia (Kärnten) has eight sectional districts (Klagenfurt-Land, Villach-Land, Spittal/Drau, Hermagor, Feldkirchen, St. Veit/Glan, Wolfsburg, and Völkermarkt) and 132 municipalities. The capital of Carinthia is Klagenfurt. The two biggest cities of the region, Klagenfurt and Villach are both statutory cities.